Why I Declutter My Makeup Collection (and why you should too) 

I wanted to share a quick post on something that I’m really passionate about: decluttering. Since the beginning of 2016 I’ve been decluttering and downsizing my makeup collection, my clothes, haircare, skincare, etc. (Most of my decluttering content lives over on my second blog Home, Budget, Blog, but I actually have a whole makeup decluttering series on this blog and you should definitely go check them out (part 1, part 2, part 3) to see some of the things I’ve gotten rid of over the last 6 months or so). The more I declutter, the more simplified and de-stressed I feel. Cleaning, getting ready, and organizing gets easier and easier. Let’s get into some of the benefits of decluttering your makeup collection.

1. Makeup expires

If you needed an obvious reason why decluttering is necessary, allow me to give you one. Makeup expires. At some point, you’ve got to throw away old and expired makeup to avoid eye infections and cold sores.

2. Things pile up

I tend to reach for what’s right on top when it comes to makeup. I have a really hard time remembering what I actually own if it’s piled under a bunch of other makeup products. It’s so much easier to use products and branch out your routine when you can see everything that you own.

3. Keep what brings you joy

The KonMari method of decluttering is all about keeping what brings you joy. If you buy a lipstick and find that you hate the way the color looks on you or the formula drives you crazy, every single time you look at your lipstick collection, you’re going to have that negative feeling when you see the shade you don’t like sitting there with all of your other lipsticks. Imagine what it would be like to look at your makeup collection and love every single item you see. Keeping only the products that you love and that bring you joy will make doing your makeup that much more enjoyable.

4. Staying away from consumerism

I’ve done a couple of Products I’m Not Going to Buy posts (part 1part 2) on my blog talking about makeup items that are super hyped that I’m not going to spend my money on. I think that makeup is a dangerous area to fall into the trap of constantly needing to buy new things because brands are always coming out with flashy new items and collections. You can easily be sucked into buying every single new thing on the market (not to mention the fact that makeup is super expensive!). Even if you don’t want to get into the whole “save the planet and limit waste” debate, we can all agree that consumerism isn’t good for your wallet.

5. Getting your money’s worth

Everyone knows that it takes forever to use up makeup. An eyeshadow palette or a powder blush will last you years and years if you own more than one. Makeup also has a relatively short shelf life, and things typically expire within 3-24 months depending on the product and formula. Because of these two combined factors, it’s really hard to use makeup up quickly enough to actually get your money’s worth out of the products. When you have less items, you’re more easily able to use things up.

 

I hope that I gave you at least one reason to go through your makeup collection and get rid of a few things. Let me know in a comment down below if you would be interested to see a full post about how to declutter your makeup collection and some things to look at and think about when going through your makeup and I would love to go ahead and make that post for you all! If you enjoyed this post, don’t forget to go and check out my Makeup That I’m Getting Rid Of part onepart two, and part three posts to see some decluttering! Thank you so, so much for stopping by my blog, and I’ll talk to you really soon!!

Leave a Reply

