Benefit Gimme Brow vs. Essence Make Me Brow – Review and Comparison

Hello lovelies and welcome back to my blog! Today I’m going to be doing a side-by-side comparison of the Benefit Gimme Brow and the Essence Make Me Brow. Everyone has been labeling these as dupes for YEARS, so I finally decided to test them out side-by-side for myself. Let’s get into the two products and I’ll let you know what my thoughts are and if these are really a dupe!


The Gimme Brow retails for $24.00 from Ulta, while the Make Me Brow is only $2.99 at Ulta. Gimme Brow comes with 0.1 oz and the Make Me Brow comes with 0.13 oz of product, so you get .03 oz more for an EIGHTH of the price. They both come in 3 different shades.

On Ulta’s website, the description of the Gimme Brow says that it is an “award-winning, innovative brush-on gel (that) contains tiny microfibers that adhere to skin and hair, creating full, lush-looking brows where there were none. The water resistant, long-wearing formula builds easily for thick, full arches, thanks to a tiny tapered brush for blending and precision tip for shaping.” The description for the Make Me Brow says that it “has a tinted gel formula that contains tiny fibers to fill in gaps to create fuller, more defined eyebrows. The perfectly sized fiber brush shapes and tames to brow perfection.” As you can tell, they are both marketed as a fiber gel that will shape the brows to make them look fuller. The Gimme Brow claims to have a water resistant, long-wearing formula and a tiny tapered brush (which I personally have found those claims to be true. The Gimme Brow does have a very long wearing formula and I do enjoy the tapered brush for precise application, but more on that later).


I have the lightest shade in both of these brow gels, and you can see that the colors of the two are different. The Gimme Brow has a much more cool toned ashy undertone while the Make Me Brow is much warmer toned. I personally prefer the ashy tone of the Gimme Brow on my personal brows.

As far as the formula goes, these two brow gels are very different once again. The Gimme Brow has a much drier matte finish to it and the gel itself is very thick. The Make Me Brow is much thinner and much more liquidy. (Again, I personally prefer the Gimme Brow formula because I find that the drier and thicker formula builds up on the brows and adds tons of volume and pigment.


As far as the brush itself, I again prefer Benefit. The wand is obviously much smaller (the tiniest brush I’ve ever seen on a brow gel which is why this doesn’t have a perfect dupe) and the tip is tapered to a point which makes it much easier to fill in the front part of your brows versus the Make Me Brow which is a very square shape and has a much larger want. The bristles on the Make Me Brow are SO scratchy on my brows, and I honestly hate applying the product with this wand. I’ve found myself dipping the Gimme Brow wand into the Make Me Brow to apply it, and I really don’t mind the Essence gel that way.

I don’t think that these are exact dupes, and I don’t think the experience is the same using the Essence Make Me Brow. If you’re interested in the Gimme Brow but have never tried it (and you’re not looking for the EXACT same product at a cheaper price point, but rather just something similar that will give you a similar effect) I do recommend the Make Me Brow. I don’t think anything can replace the Benefit Gimme Brow if it’s one of your holy grail products (at least the Make Me Brow can’t) so if you’re looking for a BETTER alternative, you won’t find it in Essence. That being said, the Make Me Brow really isn’t a bad product at all, and I will probably repurchase when I finish it up (using the Gimme Brow brush with it of course).

 

I hope you enjoyed reading my side-by-side comparison of the Essence Make Me Brow and the Benefit Gimme Brow. Have you tried these two products? What did you think of them? Let me know in a comment down below! Thank you so much for stopping by, and I’ll talk to you soon!!

Leave a Reply

