Revlon Colorstay Foundation Review (Combination/Oily Formula)

I’m going to be doing a quick review on the Revlon Colorstay foundation in the combination/oily formula. I want to start by saying that I have super oily and super pale skin. I have a really hard time with 99.9% of drugstore foundations being too dark and too greasy on my face.

I just finished my second bottle of this foundation. One of the bottles I used was the old formula with the glass bottle and the twist-off lid that had no SPF, and the other bottle was the new formula with the pump and SPF 15.


I’m one of the people that firmly believe adding the SPF into the foundation changed the formula a lot. Colorstay has been around for years and years, so adding the pump and SPF was a huge deal.When I first tried the new formula, I really didn’t like it. While the old packaging was annoying because you had to dump the foundation out onto the back of your hand when you used it, I thought it was much fuller coverage and had much better lasting power. The old Colorstay was like a foundation mask, and the only foundation with higher coverage was the Estée Lauder Double Wear.

When I finally gave up on the Beauty Blender and starting using a foundation brush with the new Colorstay formula, I really fell back in love with it. While the SPF did thin out both the consistency and the coverage, I think the added SPF makes this foundation even better for everyday wear.

Revlon Colorstay has one of the best shade ranges from the drugstore. Their lightest shade matches my skin perfectly and I’ve never had a problem with it oxidizing on me. This is such a huge benefit to this foundation, because I normally have a really hard time with even the lightest foundation shades being several shades too dark for my skin.

I find that I don’t have to set this foundation with the heaviest duty mattifying powder, either. It holds up pretty well with a light dusting of any translucent powder (which is a miracle for my crazy oily skin, I usually have to powder halfway through the day and I never need to touch up with Colorstay). The coverage is amazing and it builds up really well on top of itself when I want to layer in certain areas.

Final verdict: I love the Revlon Colorstay foundation. It’s one of the best (if not the absolute best) for oily skin from the drugstore. If you haven’t picked up a bottle of it yet, you need to!

9 thoughts on “Revlon Colorstay Foundation Review (Combination/Oily Formula)

  1. Rouland

    I just asked my readers to suggest a foundation for combination skin because i was searching for one and then i found this .
    I might actually buy it tomorrow, thank you for the review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Pingback: The ULTIMATE Drugstore Makeup Kit For Normal to Oily Skin! | Disney Wife

  3. Pingback: Ulta + Target HAUL – March 2017 | Disney Wife

  4. Pingback: My Top 5 Foundations – Top 5 Series  | Disney Wife

  5. Pingback: Haul UPDATE – What Worked and What DIDN’T – May Elf, L’Oreal + More Haul | Disney Wife

  6. Pingback: Top 5 Underrated Makeup Products – Tarte, Too Faced, L’Oréal + MORE!  | Disney Wife

Leave a Reply

