My Top 10 Drugstore Makeup Brushes

I’m super excited about today’s post! We’re talking about my every day makeup brushes and tools, the best of the best, holy-grail status drugstore brushes (side note: please excuse the dirty state of all of these, I just washed them yesterday but stupid me didn’t take pictures until now). Let’s jump right in!

10. Elf Professional Eyeshadow Brush 


I’ve had this brush for years, in fact it might have been one of my original makeup brushes from back in the day. This is an awesome basic eyeshadow brush, it’s the perfect shape to pack color on the lid without being stiff and hard to handle.


What I like about it: I love the thinness of this brush, and the shape is perfect for packing on a beautiful shimmery color to my lids.

9. Elf Flat Eyeliner Brush 


This is another basic essential brush that everyone has to have in their makeup kit. A thin, flat brush like this can be used for so many different things.


What I like about it: I used to use this brush for gel eyeliner (which it’s perfect for) but lately I’ve found it awesome to use black eyeshadow for eyeliner, smudging out my lower lash line, or even creating a sharp outer V look to my lids.

8. Real Techniques Shading Brush


This is a perfect lid and crease brush! The dense dome shape packs crease color right where you want it.


What I like about it: I use this type of brush to apply my crease color (usually some shade of brown) to my lid and crease as well as popping a dark color into my outer corner.

7. Elf Small Angled Brush


This is another classic makeup brush for beginners: the eyebrow brush. The angle makes it super easy to get a precise brow edge, and this brush is the perfect in between of dense and moveable.


What I like about it: This brush is the perfect size for my eyebrows and applies my Anastasia DipBrow Pomade beautifully!

6. Real Techniques Expert Face Brush


This is arguably the most popular drugstore foundation brush of all time (next to the Elf Small Stipple Brush which I also adore).


What I like about it: I love how densely packed the bristles are, and this brush gives me beautiful full coverage with any foundation or BB cream I use with it.

5. Elf Small Powder Brush 


This is one of the softest brushes on this list! It’s the perfect size to be the ultimate multi-tasker.


What I like about it: I love this brush for so many things; it’s perfect for applying powder on the go, applying blush, setting the under eyes, and even hilighting (my main use for it).

4. Elf Blending Brush 


This is hands down my all time favorite eyeshadow brush. If you buy any brush from this post, let it be this one.


What I like about it: I love using this crazy soft brush to blend out my shadows as well as apply a base shadow all over my lids.

3. Real Techniques Blush Brush 


This is my favorite brush from an appearance stand point, I love that the pink handle always matches the blush on the tip. This is also hands down the softest brush on this list.


What I like about it: This brush applies blush lightly and beautifully. It’s so incredibly soft on your cheeks.

2. Elf Powder Brush 


This brush is super dense, and a lot of people like this for a liquid foundation brush.


What I like about it: I love how densely packed the bristles are on this brush, it really packs a lot of powder onto my face, keeping me matte all day (which says a lot coming from a super oily skinned girl).

1. Elf Concealer Brush


And last but not least we have my favorite brush of the group! This is an outstanding concealer brush. It’s super soft and the perfect size for concealing pimples, dark spots, around the nose, and under the eyes. I love how nicely this brush plays with both liquid and powder products (usually one right on top of the other, which is an amazing thing for a brush to be able to handle without gunking the two together).


What I like about it: This brush almost seems to melt the concealer into my skin instead of just simply blending it. I never have concealer marks or harsh lines when I use this brush, and it truly is the perfect size for a concealer brush. I don’t know what I would do without this little guy.
So there you have it lovelies, those are my top 10 favorite makeup brushes that I’ve been using every single day for the last several months. Of course, there’s so many other wonderful brushes from the drugstore that I didn’t mention here (part 2 anyone?) so let me know what your favorites are in a comment!

Thanks for stopping by! Until next time!!

3 thoughts on “My Top 10 Drugstore Makeup Brushes

Leave a Reply

