How I Remove My Makeup Using Only Water

I recently learned a way to remove my makeup that is chemical free, product free, all natural, safe, gentle, and costs next to nothing. Sound too good to be true? Well here’s the secret: microfiber. 

There’s a super popular product on the market right now called the Makeup Eraser. The idea behind it is that all you need to take off your makeup is some water and a little bit of gentle rubbing (and to my surprise, it actually works! Even on waterproof makeup. There’s a million reviews and YouTube videos on it if you want to see it in action for yourself). You can purchase the Makeup Eraser from Sephora for around $20, or you can run to Walmart, Target, even the Dollar Tree and purchase a pack of microfiber cloths for $1-$3. 

I had a microfiber cloth laying around, so I decided to give it a try. All it takes is a little bit of warm water and a lot of circular motions and my makeup comes off with no problem every single time. 

Here’s what my clean, dry microfiber cloth looks like (in my terrible bathroom lighting) before I take my makeup off. Pro tip: wash it immediately after use to avoid getting stains on it like mine has. Also, only ever wash these with normal soap. Most importantly, NEVER USE FABRIC SOFTNER ON MICROFIBER. 


As you can see, this takes off foundation, eyeshadow, mascara, eyeliner, eyebrow product, etc. with no trouble at all. This took me about 30 seconds total to get my entire face of makeup off. You don’t have to scrub or rub hard, you can be as gentle and take as much time as you’d like if you have sensitive skin. If you’re having a hard time getting waterproof mascara off with the cloth, you can always use facial cleanser or any kind of makeup remover, but most of your makeup (if not all of it) definitely comes off using just plain water. 

This has pretty life changing for me for several reasons: 1. I don’t have to buy makeup remover wipes anymore. 2. I don’t have to buy any kind of liquid or cream makeup remover (goodbye waterproof eye makeup remover, miceller water, and cotton rounds). 3. Less chemicals are being put on my skin. 4. After the one time cost of buying the microfibers (which I didn’t even do because they were gifted to me) I can remove my makeup for free!! 

I definitely recommend you try using a microfiber cloth to remove your makeup if you haven’t already tried it yet! 

2 thoughts on “How I Remove My Makeup Using Only Water

  1. Pingback: What’s On My Sephora + Ulta Wish Lists?! Spring 2017 Edition  | Disney Wife

Leave a Reply

