August Empties 

Today I’m going to be sharing all of the products that I used up during the month of August. I’m so excited to give my mini reviews and let you know if I’d repurchase! 

I’m so proud of how many products I was able to finish! I usually only go through 2 or 3 things a month, but I’ve made a big push to start working my way through some of my Birchbox and Ipsy samples that have been piling up. 

Without further ado, let’s get into it! 


Makeup



My first makeup empty is the Maybelline Master Precise black liquid eyeliner. This is my favorite liquid liner, and lasts for months! Would I repurchase? As soon as I finish a couple of liners from Ipsy I’ll be buying this one again for sure. 


Next I have a sample of the Smashbox X-Rated Mascara and I hated this. The wand is a super cool triangle shape and did an amazing job coating all my lashes, but the smell. It not only stunk while I was applying it, but I could smell this mascara all day long. Would I buy the full size? Noooooo. Just no. 


Skin Care 



I finally pulled out my Wilma Schumann Collagen Eye Pads sample, and they were…alright. I don’t know exactly what I was expecting…but it wasn’t exactly this. It came with two super slimy silicone gel pads that were kinda gross at first, but they were cooling and soothing and that’s all that they’re really supposed to do. Would I buy these? Probably not. I don’t really have issues with dark circles, puffiness, or wrinkles so I personally don’t need a product like this. 


I was super happy to finally finish up my Vasanti face wash sample. It smelled fresh and clean and was what I would classify as a mild exfoliator. It didn’t do anything to brighten my skin like it claims, but I didn’t really expect anything amazing from a sample size anyway. Would I buy a full size? I’m not a huge fan of exfoliating face washes, so no. 


I personally hated this Goldfaden MD Doctor’s Scrub face wash, but my husband really liked it (thanks for using this one up for me babe). The one time I used it, it felt like I was scratching my face off. Would I purchase this? No, but if you’re into super harsh exfoliators, you’d love this. 


I finally finished up this pack of Up&Up makeup remover wipes. About halfway through the pack I discovered the magic that is microfiber cloths and I’m never buying makeup wipes ever again. Would I buy these again? Obviously no, but if you’re a makeup wipe person, these are cheap and cheerful. 
Body Care

We coincidentally finished our Q-Tips this month. I like the cheap store brand ones because they’re stiffer than the name brand. Would I buy these again? Obviously, everyone needs Q-Tips. 


This Whish Lavender Shave Cream sample was delightful. This left my legs feeling super soft in a way that foam shaving creams don’t. Would I purchase the full size? I like this a lot, but I’m only willing to spend about $3-$5 on shaving cream, so if it costs anymore than that, probably not. Would I mind getting another sample of this from Birchbox? Not at all.


I’ve been working on this Secret Charm lotion from Victoria’s Secret forever. This was one of the products I wanted to use up in 2016, and I’m so relieved that I finally made it through this bottle. Would I repurchase? I would like to stick to Bath & Body Works from now on, but this lotion wasn’t bad by any means. I’m happy to have this scent out of my life. 


Hair Care

The first hair sample I used up this month was the Parlor shampoo. This smelled super fruity and lathered really well. Would I buy it? Probably not just because I’m not really the type to seek out a certain kind of shampoo. Herbal Essence works just fine for me. I wouldn’t mind getting another sample of this though. 


Next up is this awesome Briogeo Deep Conditioning Mask. I wasn’t a huge fan of the avocado and almond scent, but this made my hair crazy soft. Would I buy this? I probably wouldn’t buy this specific one, but I’m definitely going to purchase another deep conditioning mask in the near future. 


I was so excited to try out this LivingProof Nightcap overnight hair treatment. I used this all over my hair the night before washing it. I’ve got to say, I don’t feel like this really made much of a difference on my hair and I really didn’t like the scent of it either. Would I buy this? Probably not, but the product itself is kind of a cool concept. 


I’ve been loving hair oils for the ends of my hair, and this Eva NYC Hungry Hair Oul Treatment was no exception. I mainly used this on the ends of my hair the night before washing it to add a little moisture and prevent split ends. Would I buy it? While I loved the smell of this oil, it left a super greasy look and feel when I put it on dry hair, so in the future I would probably go for something that could be used on wet or dry hair.  I definitely wouldn’t mind getting another sample of this, though. 


If you saw my July Birchbox unboxing post, these will probably look familiar to you. These are the MINU conditioner packets and matching shampoo. The conditioner packets smelled so freaking bizarre. As soon as I put it in my hair I actually said out loud that it smelled like food. After using the second packet, I’m completely convinced that these smell exactly like corn tortillas. The shampoo has more of a medicinal scent to it, but it still wasn’t pleasant. Would I buy this? No freaking way. 


Fragrance 



I burnt up my Mainstays Apples & Berries candle this month and I liked it alright. Would I repurchase this? The scent itself was just okay in my opinion, but I love Walmart’s candles for the price. They obviously don’t have as good of a scent throw as the Bath & Body Works candles do, but they definitely fill the general area. I wouldn’t repurchase this particular scent, but I’ll probably pick up a fall scented one in the next month or so. 


Finally, I have this Everyday Home Watermelon candle. The wax on the sides is due to the candle having only one wic, therefore not burning evenly. Would I buy this again? The scent throw was almost nonexistent, and as I said it didn’t burn evenly, so no I probably wouldn’t buy another candle from this brand. 

6 thoughts on “August Empties 

Leave a Reply

