Products I Regret Buying 

Over the years, I’ve made a lot of stupid purchases when it comes to makeup. I’ve wasted tons of money on products that beauty gurus on YouTube recommended. Here are some of my biggest makeup fails. (Disclaimer: just because a product doesn’t work for me doesn’t mean it’s a bad product, or a bad brand. These are my opinions only, take them or leave them. All photos are from google because you know I got rid of every single one of these girl). 

15. NYX Micro Brow Pencil 

This product really wasn’t terrible, but it took forever to fill in my brows. The pencil was hard and waxy, making it more draggy and less of a creamy glide that I like. 

14. L’Oreal Magic Nude Liquid Powder Foundation 


I was so excited to try out this liquid to powder foundation, and had been told it would do amazing things for my oily skin. It didn’t. It set powdery, but within an hour, my skin was oily. 
13. Maybelline Mega Plush Mascara 


This wasn’t the worst mascara I’ve ever tried, but when they say “natural lashes” what they really mean is “droopy feathers”. 

12. Urban Decay Naked 2 Basics Palette


This all matte neutral palette was right up my alley when I picked it up several years ago. However, after using it consistently, it became obvious that the three brown shades are nearly identical on the eyes. I expected a lot more for the price tag. 

11. Covergirl Clean Foundation + Powder (Old Formula) 


I’m so excited to hear that they’ve reformulated this foundation line, because the 2010 version of this was terrible. Cakey, splotchy, and oxidization like you wouldn’t believe. 

10. NYX HD Blush 


There has been nothing but hype surrounding NYX blushes for years. When I finally got my hands on one, to say I was disappointed would be an understatement. Between the terrible staying power and the so-so pigmentation, these were a huge fail for me. 

9. Maybelline Baby Skin Primer 


This was all the rage when it came out, and everyone claimed it was a perfect dupe for the Benefit Porefessional primer (spoiler alert, it wasn’t). This primer was very greasy on my skin, and didn’t do anything to help my foundation last. 

8. Maybelline Color Whisper Lipstick 


This lipstick did exactly what it claimed to do, leave a whisper of color on your lips. However, with all the hype surrounding “Lust for Blush”, I thought it would be a lot prettier than it really was. This is really more of a tinted lipbalm that slides all over your lips than the “perfect your lips but better” lipstick everyone claimed it was. 

7. Maybelline The Colossal Mascara 


This mascara smells terrible. I haven’t used this in years and I can still remember the smell. 

6. Revlon Lip Butter Lipsticks


These had so much hype and to be honest, they’re really nothing special. At all. They feather outside the lip line and smudge and smear all day. (I’ve only ever tried the red shade, the nude ones are probably better). 

5. Benefit Boi-ing Concealer 


This concealer oxidized like crazy. I’d put it on in the morning and by lunch, I had orange polka dots all over my face and under my eyes. 

4. L’Oreal Brow Stylist Plumper Gel “Light to Medium”


While the product itself isn’t too bad (a little crunchy and hard to work with since the brush is so big), the color is just bizarre. I’m blonde bordering on strawberry blonde, and even this was way too orange. 

3. Maybelline Color Tattoos 


I think anyone who followed the YouTube trends can agree that we all blew way too much money on these guys. They were pigmented and creamy, but they dried out so fast and you had to use a primer under them or they would crease (which kinda defeats the purpose if you ask me). 

2. Benefit They’re Real! Mascara 


This mascara was just not good. Not good for the hype it got, not good for the price tag, just all around not good. It flaked and transferred all over my lids. There are so many good mascaras in the $20 price range, skip this one. 

1. Maybelline The Rocket Mascara 


This mascara had a huge cult following back in the day. I have never in my life had such terrible smudging than I did with this mascara. By the end of the day, I would have black dots all over my brow bone and under eyes. I wanted to like it. I really did. 
Alright folks, there you have my 15 biggest makeup fails. Some of these products were decent products, but just didn’t live up to the hype they were given, and fell flat to my expectations. Let me know what some of your least favorite makeup products are in the comments. 

Until next time! 

Leave a Reply

